Gluten Free Froggie in the Kitchen

Home » bread » Sandwich soup

Sandwich soup

No, I don’t mean a soup to go with a sandwich. I mean a soup made out of a sandwich. And by that I don’t mean a soup with chunks of sandwich in it, I mean a creamy, really delicious, soup made entirely from a sandwich. The best part? It not only tastes like a sandwich but it’s ready in minutes.

Due to the fact my esophagus has taken offense for some reason at solid food, I’ve been on a non-solid food diet for 8 weeks. Actually, today is day one of week 9. It does drive me crazy because I miss solids. I can’t go pick up a safe snack or treat at whole foods and eat it on the way home. I have to wait till I get home, and throw it through the blender first. There’s no more snacking as I cook an MC safe dinner. And, menus have changed. Some things I just don’t want to eat to be quite honest.

When I first started throwing things in the blender 2 months ago, I quickly learned that not everything tastes good pulverized together. Yes, I LOVE quinoa, but, I do not like the taste of it with other things in the blender. You know how some adults will tell picky eaters, “why do you have to separate everything when you eat it? It all gets mixed together in the stomach!” Well, here’s the answer:

The stomach doesn’t have taste buds!!

One dish may taste great together, even mixed together, but when you go to throw it in the blender, it really doesn’t taste good. So, I’ve set out to maintain some degree of sanity in the whole not-allowed-to-eat-solid-food thing over the last 8 weeks and I’ve been doing some kinda crazy experimenting here and there and discovered that some of my favorite foods in solid form really do taste really good as a creamy puréed soup! When I suggested some of them to my best friends they both looked at me like I was crazy. But I was desperate for some variety in what I was eating!

The first try was pizza. It was actually really good!!! Then I tried cinnamon buns with ice cream floating on top. That was really good. Brownie soup with ice cream (or without) was really great too. Then I took bacon, potato, Daiya cheese and some coconut milk. It. Was. Amazing. At another time I’ll post the recipe for cream of bacon soup. I also made chocolate cereal soup. That was really good and nice and creamy. But today, the star of the show would be my favorite.

Sandwich soup. Yup. It’s really simple.

You can prepare the sandwich like a regular looking sandwich like this, but it is totally NOT necessary. I usually just stick the stuff straight into my vitamix.

20131012-161937.jpg

1. Tear/cut up the sandwich material and toss it in your blender.

20131012-162059.jpg
2. Add water up to about 2/3 of the depth that the sandwich stuff takes up.

20131012-162117.jpg

3. Turn blender on low and slowly increase the speed till you get to the very highest speed. Leave it on high for a minute or two.

20131012-162047.jpg

4. Pour, serve & enjoy.

20131012-163036.jpg

Now, a few notes. I’m sure you all are wondering what it tastes like. Really, it tastes like a sandwich! I’m totally serious!!
However, unless you want to make tomato soup (which is really good too), don’t put tomato with the sandwich. The tomato has a tendency to overpower everything else when thrown in the blender so if you want to taste everything else, leave it out.
Also, I haven’t tried mustard, pickles and the like. But, I bet they’d make a good addition!

And, lastly, those of you who know me know I love frogs and know about Super Froggie and the Frogland gang (kid frogs with food allergies (and without) who help each other out and learn from each other). I love working on stuff related to them as a way to encourage others. But a friend decided to ask for a drawing of Super Froggie, with his cape and all (yes, including his belt and epipens!) for some secret project she was working on to encourage and cheer ME up as it’s been rough with not being allowed solid food for so long! And in the mail yesterday came THE most AWESOME glass I have ever seen which she had custom ordered from Starr Parnell. (It looks kinda not straight but that’s due to the angle I took the picture at. In real life it’s perfect). It was a complete surprise. But it was perfect! There is no way I can’t help it but smile when I drink out of this glass, even when I’m really not feeling great.

Leave a Reply

