Gluten Free Froggie in the Kitchen

Home » Corn-free » Apple Pie Lasagna

Apple Pie Lasagna

This weekend has been pretty awesome. I have actually had a full weekend break from homework. Tomorrow, though, it’s back to the grind. But, till then I’m going to keep on enjoying the warmer weather, sunshine and free time to just be creative. So, I baked. 🙂

20130407-160749.jpg

Sometime last week my little sister came to me excited because she had had a vegan lasagna a neighbor made and thought it was really good. “And it didn’t have any cheese!” She told me. “Did it have tofu?” I asked. “Uh, yes.” See, I’m allergic to soy. She tried to say that it didn’t have much tofu, but I’ve seen vegan recipes before for this and they don’t have a tiny amount. As we debated the other ways I could make it I remembered another problem. Even if I used Daiya cheese, there was still tomato sauce. For years my body does not do well nor like tomato sauce. I can have tomatoes, but tomato sauce is different for some reason. Maybe it has to do with the quantity that’s in lasagna and other dishes. But it’s really hard to make lasagna without tomato sauce.

“You could use apple sauce!!” My sister said, laughing as she was referencing how she used to always get tomato and apple sauce mixed up and always said she wanted apple sauce on her pizza when she meant tomato sauce. We both laughed. “Uh…… no.” I said. Somehow in the conversation though I somehow came up with the thought of putting fruit in it. Which led to my idea of mixing an apple pie with lasagna, turning it into a desert.

Part of why I got rather excited about this idea is that I’ve really really struggled to make pie crusts that are gluten, dairy and soy free. It’s possible. But I just haven’t gotten something that I like quite down yet. But using lasagna instead, even though it would be different, I wouldn’t have to worry about making a pie crust in order to make pie. So, that also simplified things. After brainstorming a bit more with my sister and then with one of my friends, I came up with how I wanted to make it. And it turned out pretty well. This recipe is pretty simple and easy to make. So, here’s the recipe:

1. Peel, core and slice 9 large apples (more if they’re small)

2. Mix together:
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup rice flour
Cinnamon to desired taste (I like quite a bit)

3. Add the above mixture to the apples and mix well.

4. Preheat your oven to 375* F

5. Cook 9 pieces of rice lasagna according to package instructions
You can either snap the pieces to size before cooking or after cooking. While it is a bit harder to get a smooth edge when the pasta is dry, I find it easier than trying to cut it when it’s hot.

6. Butter your dish (I use Earth Balance buttery “spread”), then lay the first layer of cinnamon/sugar coated apples in the bottom.

7. Add three rows of the lasagna pasta, trimming as necessary.

8. Coat the pasta with some butter spread on it.

9. Cover the pasta with more apples. The inside layers I like to put 2 layers of apple slices.

10. Repeat with more pasta, then butter, and repeat till you get to the final pieces of pasta. Add a layer of apples on top, or two if you want.

11. Pour the cinnamon/sugar juice left at the bottom of the bowl the apples were in over the top of the completed dish.

Bake at 375* F for 45-55 minutes.

The apple pie lasagna is good both hot and cold, so you can serve it fresh out of the oven (don’t burn your tongue when eating!) or refrigerate it before serving.

1 Comment

  1. Wow! This looks amazing!!! Your creativity is very, very impressive! I never would have thought of apples!

Leave a Reply

