Gluten Free Froggie in the Kitchen

Home » Corn-free » Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Before I went gluten-free, I never had trouble making cookies that turned out. They were quite simple. But once you take gluten out… making cookies is far from easy! I’ve tried time and time again to make them, thinking this might work, or maybe that might work, but I still couldn’t get cookies to turn out… especially chocolate chip cookies. I asked around for help, and several people gave me a few pointers on what might be wrong with my cookies. I tried again, and things were better, but still not quite right.

But my other problem, is that, well, I’m a university student, so I don’t exactly have time to bake cookies all the time. Then a few weeks ago a friend happened to ask me if I had a recipe I could give her that was gluten free for the cook book she was working on for a school project. I figured that it would be great motivation for me to keep working on cookies and said “sure!”

Then, I forgot about it.

That is till this week and found out she needed it the next day! Whoops! So, I pondered all sorts of different ideas in my head and tried to come up with a way I could make some kind of gluten and dairy free cookie that was easy to make, didn’t have a ton of crazy sounding ingredient, worked and tasted good. The following morning I set to work right after breakfast. I had no idea how the cookies would turn out, but I sure hoped they did.

And, they did. 🙂

So, if you want to make them too, here’s the recipe:

Makes 2-3 dozen cookies

Ingredients:
4 TBS Dairy-Free margarine/”butter” alternative
4 TBS Dairy-Free shortening (this MUST be shortening, not margarine. It’s what helps the cookies to hold together and not melt all over the place when baking)
3/4 C sugar
1 TSP vanilla
1 Large egg (make sure it’s a large egg)

1/2 C coconut flour
1/2 C sweet white rice flour
1/8 C garbanzo (chickpea) and fava bean flour
1/2 C sorghum flour
1/2 TSP baking soda
1/4 C Dairy-Free mini chocolate chips

1. Pre-heat oven to 350* F.

2. With electric mixer, cream “butter” and shortening. Beat in sugar, vanilla and egg beating throughly with electric mixer.

3. In separate bowl: mix all dry ingredients (coconut flour, sweet white rice flour, garbanzo and fava bean flour, sorghum flour and baking soda).

4. Using a spatula, slowly incorporate dry ingredients into wet ingredients, stirring well to incorporate everything. Stir in chocolate chips. The batter will be stiff.

5. On cookie sheets lined with aluminum foil, either
a) drop tablespoonfuls of batter onto cookie sheet, 1 inch apart; or
b) roll dough out to 1/4 inch thick and cut with cookie cutters into desired shapes, placing 1 inch apart on cookie sheet. Bake 12-13 minutes, or until cookies are just turning golden.

6. Let cool for several minutes on cookie sheet before transferring to cooling rack to cool completely. Enjoy.

1 Comment

  1. I can’t wait to try them!! In the immortal words of Cookie Monster “OMNOMNOMNOMNOM”

Leave a Reply

