Gluten Free Froggie in the Kitchen

Home » Celiac Disease » Eating in a college cafeteria

Eating in a college cafeteria

I’m back home, and have 2 weeks to catch up on posts that I had meant to write while I was in North Dakota. Oh well. They’ll get written and posted over the next 2 weeks. Here’s the one on special meal requests that I had mentioned I was going to try waaaayyy back almost 2 months ago.

I mustered the courage to try out the online special gluten free meal request form for dinner one night, and then I just kept on using it. The cooks learned how to cook safely for me (there was certainly some fear and trembling at times as I am the first severely food allergic student they have ever fed), and it was realllllly nice to have a cooked meal that resembled a “normal” meal instead of random other things and sandwiches. So, here are a few pictures of my dinners over the first few weeks.




I did have some reaction to one meal, which we have no idea what it was, but other than that, everything went well. Though this worked well for me, depending on your sensitivity and specific allergens it may or may not work for you, so make sure to discuss it with your doctor(s) and consider all the options before deciding. However, my experience is that it IS possible to eat safely in a college cafeteria, IF they are aware of how to keep food allergic students safe and really do take extreme caution.

2 Comments

  1. […] know I spent 9 weeks this summer ON-campus studying sign language linguistics. And yes, I ate in a cafeteria! It was a really great experience, despite a few glitches, overall the experience was […]

  2. […] I went to North Dakota. I brought flour and stuff with me to bake random things to relax when I needed a break from […]

Leave a Reply

