Gluten Free Froggie in the Kitchen

Home » Cooking » #Pieparty …. in a college dorm!

#Pieparty …. in a college dorm!

I’ve been on-campus for a month now, and still hadn’t managed to find time to bake anything. Then last week on twitter someone mentioned that they had baked a GF pie. “Can I come over??” I asked. Her reply was “sure” but that it was Gluten Free Girl who was heading up the #pieparty on twitter and FB and she suggested making my own pie for the #pieparty! Hmm…. I thought, how can I make a pie here? I’m in a college dorm, don’t have a fridge in my room, and have limited free time… and not to mention limited resources.

The next morning when I opened my eyes, right across the room sat my pot and frying pan. “Ah ha!” Bit by bit, the plan came together, and I figured out how I could bake a pie in my dorm. πŸ˜› However, there was still a dilemma: fruit. I talked it over with my grandma, and we came to the conclusion of what fruit would be best for a pie, that I also had access to. Later, another friend on twitter sent me some links on making that kind of pie, and it got me inspired, and I was ready to make gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free while also being soy-free and egg-free (so a friend could also have the pie) grape pie!

While the cafeteria is good at supplying me with fruit they prepare for me so I don’t have to worry about cross-contamination, sometimes I think there’s a little lack of communication…. some days they put way more fruit in “my fridge” than I can eat in a day (unless all I was eating was fruit)! Last week, they gave me a lot of grapes, and obviously making grape pie would work better than watermelon, cantelope, or honey-dew melon pie. πŸ˜› So, I put 2 TBS of the soy-free earth balance from the fridge in the cafeteria and stuck it in one of the small things of extra grapes and put them in my RA’s fridge.

Later that evening, I took the “butter” and mixed it with Jule’s AP GF flour in my dorm room “kitchen”,

This is my "kitchen". Most people use it as a desk πŸ˜›


and then added water to it. The pie crust then went into a bag and in my RA’s fridge till I had time to bake it 2 days later. πŸ˜›

GF Dairy-free pie crust in the making

2 days later, before bed, I braved the sauna-like laundry room/kitchen in my dorm, though thankfully I could prepare everything in my room, and just cook and bake in the kitchen.

I took the grapes and cut them all in half in my pot, added some sugar, and then cooked it into a jam.

Meanwhile, I took the pie crust, and put it in my frying pan, and put the pan in the oven (don’t worry, it’s entirely metal) for 20 minutes while I cooked the grapes.

Yes, I made pie in a frying pan. Desperate times call for desperate measures!

After both the crust and filling were done, I poured the filling (which was more like jam/preserves) into the crust and let it cool.

Then, obviously I had to taste it. But by the time I took a picture of the finished product, my RA (who is not GF) and I tried it and we both thought it tasted pretty good! So, the picture was taken after we tasted it… πŸ˜‰

Not quite like a “normal” pie, but hey! I baked a pie that was not only gluten, dairy, egg, nut, soy free, but also in a college dorm with limited resources! And, to top it all off, it was quite fun and had that homemade taste to it too! πŸ™‚ And no rolling pin either!

4 Comments

  1. Love how resourceful you are!

  2. Very clever girl! Love the ‘where there is a will there is a way’ attitude!

  3. […] adventures… I learned how to bake a gluten, dairy, egg, soy, and nut free grape ‘pie’, and I also discovered the art of making muffins…. withOUT eggs (I didn’t have any with […]

  4. […] Then I went to North Dakota. I brought flour and stuff with me to bake random things to relax when I needed a break from studying linguistics. But I only ended up making a bunch of muffins and some grape pie. […]

Leave a Reply

