Gluten Free Froggie in the Kitchen

Home » Uncategorized » Return of a few foods….. yay!!!

Return of a few foods….. yay!!!

For the last 2 weeks I’ve had one of my best friends over. The second day she was here she stuck a piece of a Udi’s gluten free bagel under my nose and said “you know you want it!” I wasn’t sure if I should attempt it, but decided to try it. It did mean testing both corn and egg at the same time, but after we debated it for a few minutes, I decided to try it. Epipen was in my bedroom just in case things went out of control, but thankfully that didn’t happen. In fact, nothing happened. I munched on some more pieces, and then over the next 2 days we came to the conclusion that they were no longer culprit foods. So, I’ve been able to expand my diet quite a bit with only 2 foods. 🙂 🙂

For those who are not aware of why I was off corn and egg for awhile, I’ll briefly explain. Eggs are something I’ve had issues with off and on for the last 4 or so years. They’ve usually just been a stomach issue, but nonetheless, not pleasant. They seem to be ok once again though. Corn, was a “we’re not sure if this is a problem food, but it does seem to be making my face itchy…. and me itchy all over (no hives though)”. Now, since I apparently don’t have any IgE mediated reactions to any foods, (we are still puzzled why I react to some foods, particularly dairy, but for now we’re sticking with just keeping some things out because they cause problems), I went ahead and tried corn and egg on my own.

Hopefully, over the next several months, I’ll be able to find out that nuts aren’t a problem (my doctor sent me to the ER one day while I was on campus way far away from home after reacting to nuts), but I’m not quite ready to see about that yet…. nor the dairy. Already, it seems like I can eat almost anything compared to before. Now the “no no list” is down to: gluten, dairy, nuts. 3 things. How awesome is that?! And it amazingly wonderfully expands my diet too! I’m loving Udi’s gluten free bagels. They are amazing. Also, I love kinnikinnick white sandwich bread. That stuff makes amazing sammwiches. 🙂

So, in light of this, I’ve been reallllly enjoying making foods with eggs. It’s so much easier to bake and cook with egg than without it. So, give me a bit of time, and I’ll have 2 crepe recipes up. I have the egg-free version to post, and also the egg version that I came up with tonight. Dinner was, oh, so amazing!

1 Comment

  1. Teresa says:

    WOW! That’s so exciting. I hope I have a post like this someday! Enjoy the egg life for me!

Leave a Reply

