Gluten Free Froggie in the Kitchen

Home » Corn-free » A new hot breakfast–quiona flakes

A new hot breakfast–quiona flakes

I opened the gluten free pantry looking for something to eat for breakfast this morning. Yes, we have a gluten free pantry because otherwise my gf food would get mixed in with the ‘wheavil’ food. But anyway, I looked inside and the box of quinoa flakes caught my eye. It had been sitting there for over a week since my mom got it on request from me. 2 months ago I didn’t know about it, but happened to stumble across CeliacTeen‘s blog and there discovered the seed. Needless to say I was curious, so asked my mom to see if she could find it. So far we haven’t found the whole seeds, only the flour and flakes.

But back to this morning. I picked up the box and noticed a recipe for making them kind of like oatmeal. So, I thought it was worth a try. I didn’t expect it to taste good but was plesantly surprised. My mom tasted it and said it was really good too.

I make a few changes though, like using vanilla soy milk instead of the water (this is common practice in my family) and added real maple syrup. Pretty good tasting! Sorry I have no picture… the light wasn’t good and I ate it before I could get a good one.

Quiona flake hot breakfast:
1 cup soy milk
1/3 quiona flakes
1-2 tablespoons maple syrup

Mix the quiona and soy milk in a bowl, preferably a deep bowl. Microwave it on high for 2-3 minutes, watching carefully that it doesn’t spill over. Once its reached the thickness you want let it cool a bit and pour the maple syrup in. You’ll want to let it cool off before you eat it… or else risk burning your tongue!

Leave a Reply

