Gluten Free Froggie in the Kitchen

Home » Corn-free » Pumpkin dip

Pumpkin dip

One of my best friends came over this morning to help me bake and hang out. Since my family is celebrating thanksgiving this evening instead of yesterday, I hadn’t made the gluten, dairy and egg free pumpkin pie, so made it with her. I had found a recipe from Kids With Food Allergies for pumpkin pie filling without any eggs, and my friend and I made a GF crust (sorry, we don’t have a recipe for that… we kind of just mixed a bit of this and that :P). Because we made more pie filling than we needed, we debated what to do with what we had left, and by accident, came up with GF pumpkin dip!

So, here’s the recipe (slightly modified from the original you can find here):
1 can pumpkin (1 3/4 cups)
2/3 (generous) cup sugar
1 1/3 cup water
5 2/3 Tbsp potato starch (or corn, tapioca or other starch)
3/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Mix together in a sauce pan and cook till it begins to thicken. Thick enough that it’s got texture to it, but not too thick that it’s totally cooked and a solid block. πŸ˜‰

It’s quite simple, and my friend and I (and my sister too) loved it. We decided it should be something we make more often, especially during the holidays and winter months. It’s certainly mmmmmm good! Crackers or bread dipped in this stuff is amazing.

5 Comments

  1. Sara C. says:

    sounds yummy….I’m a sucker for a good pumpkin anything!

    you need to write down the recipe for the GF pie crust too.

    • Sara, I’m working on the recipe for GF pie crust… it just takes time to figure it out AND write it down πŸ˜› My focus right now is figuring out how to make my dad’s bread (THE best bread in the world, and it’s healthy too!) gluten and egg free.

  2. kerri says:

    I want to eat this on graham crackers. πŸ˜‰

  3. Caiti says:

    HAHA! I finally found your blog! Now I can make this at home too. And have fun figuring out the pie crust – I think our recipe was place everything in a circle and go around it a few times dumping each ingredient in until it looks right. πŸ™‚

    • True, true Caiti, you found my blog. I kept forgetting to send you the URL… but I guess you found it on your own. πŸ˜‰

      Actually, I have found a “recipe” for pie crust very similar to the one you made, except that I haven’t posted the recipe yet. Should be up sometime this week though. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

