Home » Corn-free » Chocolate cookies

Chocolate cookies

Oh. My.

These cookies are ahhhhhmazing! I just had to share. Especially after leaving off on a kinda scary note of the story from the last anaphylactic reaction a few weeks ago. I’ve had it on my mind to bake over the last 3 weeks. But well. I’ve just been in survival mode. Being a full-time student doesn’t make it easy and I’ve been working on catching up. But this weekend I decided to take a break from the assignments and reading and give my brain some time to let the creative juices flow. I started out by sewing a froggie hoodie for the dog. :) Then today I made pumpkin, sunbutter, chocolate muffins. And then cookies. Oh my. They’re all sooo good! Why did I wait so long to make them?? Ok, probably because I’ve been too tired to try to play with recipes and adjust my favorites to being egg free over the last month and half. But I finally got around to getting egg replacer a few weeks back so things have been turning out a bit more normal when I bake now.

I kind of took the recipe from Jules, but made my own adjustments to it based on things I’ve done in the past and also kind of forgot an ingredient.

8 TBS coconut spread (this has more of a consistency of shortening, not butter, so it works better with cookies than any margarine does)
1 TBS egg replacer
2 TBS coconut milk (So Delicious, not plain coconut milk from a can)

Beat together with electric mixer. Then add:

1 cup sugar
dash/squirt of vanilla

Beat well together. Add:

1/2 cup brown rice flour
1/2 cup sweet white rice flour
1/2 cup sorghum flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder

Mix well and then stick in the fridge for a bit. Preheat oven to 375 F.

Grab a lump of dough (about 1/4 cup) and roll into a ball with your hands, and place on the cookie sheet (I just line mine with aluminum foil, the cookies do not stick so NO need to grease it) and flatten slightly. Leave about an inch or 2 between each cookie.

Bake for about 15 minutes.

Remove from the oven, and do your best to wait a few minutes before removing them from the cookie sheet so that you don’t burn yourself!

Makes about 18 cookies. You can also only make 1/2 and freeze the rest for another time when you’re really wanting cookies but don’t have the time to throw together the ingredients. Just thaw the dough enough to shape, and bake. But, I’m going to recommend that you double the recipe and make extra to freeze. Oh, and btw, they freeze really well.

1 Comment

  1. Ana Phylaxis says:

    So glad you are getting back into the kitchen! Thanks for sharing the recipe – stay well!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 806 other followers

