Home » bread » Learning to bake gluten free bread… with SUCCESS!

Learning to bake gluten free bread… with SUCCESS!


It’s taken me 15 months. Yes. A long long time. I can’t even remember the last time I had my dad’s bread. His bread is just amazing. It’s got flax, sesame, raisins, whole grains and more. It’s not like store bought bread that you can squish into a little ball, yet it’s not hard as a brick, nor does it tear when you try to spread stuff on it. We have friends who ask for his bread for desert instead of ice cream…. yeah…. I’ve missed that bread since I went gluten free.

But I’ve been determined to recreate my dad’s bread, but gluten free (it’s already dairy free). I’ve tried. And tried. And tried. And tried. And tried……. sometimes getting something that tasted decent, other times I managed to eat it somehow so all the ingredients used wouldn’t go to waste.

I’ve had bread turn out hard as a brick. Super dense because it wouldn’t rise. Or it would rise but would fall and cave in and just not work. It would look nice on the outside, but was uncooked in the middle… or if it was cooked in the middle, it was super dry and hard on the outside. Or if it looked right, it tasted weird, or sometimes just plain nasty. I tried extra yeast (yuck!) more rising time (forever??), and one thing after another. Different oven temperature, different baking time, and pans, and I just couldn’t get it to turn out like I wanted it to.

As time went on though, I started to get closer. I learned about baking using ratios between starch and whole grains, I learned about different flours, learned which ones I like the taste of and which ones I just don’t. Which work well, and which I’m perfectly happy with never ever buying again. I’ve researched and spent hours staring at recipes, and thinking about it at random moments during the day how I can make it work.

Then I went to North Dakota. I brought flour and stuff with me to bake random things to relax when I needed a break from studying linguistics. But I only ended up making a bunch of muffins and some grape pie.

Now I’ve been home for 3 weeks. 2 weeks ago Jules talked on twitter about baking gluten free bread. But I had just burned my hand, and was working on regaining strength and getting my hand used to doing things and not hurting every time I washed my hands in lukewarm water. Thankfully, a week after that, my hand was back to normal!

Then, came hurricane Irene. And the uncertainty of whether we’d lose power. I sewed a new pouch for my EpiPens in the morning (still not finished with it though) then got around to baking in the afternoon. Once I started, I didn’t stop till it was after 9pm and I needed to get to bed. I started off with baking bread, merging a recipe I had from Jules and my dad’s recipe. Changing the ratio of liquid to dry ingredients as I felt like it should be…. believe it or not, BEFORE I ever mixed the ingredients together. I think I’m starting to get better at this gluten free baking thing, one day at a time! I baked and baked and baked that afternoon, making the bread, muffins (which actually turned more into an apple muffin pie instead of Jules’ blueberry muffins… I had no blueberries on hand, and I’m allergic to bananas, so I totally tweaked the recipe and ended up with something quite different!), graham crackers (Chef Flower and I made 2 GIANT graham crackers to make a huge s’more in the next days!), tapiocia pudding, and pie dough (to be baked the next day, provided we had power).

As I pulled the bread out of the pan, I sliced it open to check to make sure it was totally baked and it was. At dinner I tried it, and my first reaction was, “hey, this is really good! Not quite like Papa’s bread, but it tastes really good!” Chef Flower agreed with me and so did my mom. My dad tried it and his first reaction was, “wow, this actually tastes…. like bread!”

I spread some earth balance on it and sunbutter, and as I bit into that “sammich” I was blown away by how great it tasted, the texture and how it tasted just like a real peanut butter and butter sandwich I used to eat as a kid! Wowie!!!! The next day at lunch, it was still as good, and did I say it slices well too! No crumbling, and you can even slice it thinly and balance it on a knife without the bread breaking in 2 or crumbling to pieces! And it still tasted as good!

So, while I have 1 little thing I need to tweak (not quite liking the after taste of the rice bran in there), I wanted to share with you guys that I have successfully made gluten and dairy free bread that tastes great, is moist, has that marvelous homemade taste, isn’t hard as a brick, yet isn’t like store bought bread, and is healthy for you too! I’ll post the recipe hopefully sometime soon, but being a college student, it may be a week or two, maybe 3 or 4 before I have the official recipe to post. In the mean time, I’ll leave you with a picture of it. :)

Now I actually look forward to sammiches because I at last have gluten and dairy free bread that I can eat that tastes good and has the texture similar to my dad’s bread! Yayayay!!!!!

4 Comments

  1. Congrats! The bread looks great. I love experimenting in the kitchen. Muffins and quick breads come easy for me but I haven’t ventured much into the world of gluten-free yeast breads.

  2. Janelle says:

    There’s something about my daddy’s bread too. Maybe it’s the love that gets baked in?! Because NO bread I make comes out like his! Glad you found something that tastes (and looks!) delicious, just like your dads.

  3. Congrats! Glad to hear your success!

  4. DT says:

    Would you mind sharing your awesome GF bread recipe? I’ve had very little success when it comes to finding a GF bread that tastes just like how ‘real’ bread does (I used to love to make homemade sourdough, but I’ve had to cut that out of my diet and I miss it!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 806 other followers

