Home » Corn-free » Pineapple Casserole

Pineapple Casserole

Thanksgiving is right around the corner, and if you have food restrictions, particularly gluten, then it can be a time of stress, not of thanks-giving from trying to figure out what you can and can’t eat for thanksgiving dinner. This is my first thanksgiving being gluten free, and also corn free… on top of the dairy free (6-7 years already). So I have more challenges this year, but I’m still determined.

And since thanksgiving is right around the corner, I figured I should try some of the typical stuff and make it gluten free ahead of time to make sure it works on thanksgiving day. I got to thinking, what is my favorite thanksgiving food, and it didn’t take me long to figure that one out: pineapple casserole. For longer than I can remember, it’s always been on the table at thanksgiving dinner, and has always been a family favorite. My dad still uses the same old recipe from my aunt, and so I hunted that recipe down the other day and made it gluten free.

It’s really easy to make (I’m sure my 11-year-old sister could now make it entirely on her own now that she’s made it with me once), and tastes great. Great as in, my mom and sister and I all agree that I should make it more often, not just for thanksgiving. So, without further to do, here’s the recipe.

7 slices of Gluten-Free bread of your choice, cubed (more or less depending on what kind of GF bread you used, I used Food For Life)
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup canola oil
1 large can crushed pineapple

Mix all the ingredients in an 8×8″ baking dish/pan (or it can be another shape if you want).



Bake at 375F for 35 minutes. Don’t worry if it looks a little oily when it first comes out, give it a few minutes, and it will be fine. And please, wait at least 5-10 minutes once it’s out of the oven before tasting it… your tongue will thank you for not burning it. :P

And that’s it. It’s that simple, but oh boy, it’s good!!! As I baked bread with my sister after that, I kept going back for another spoon of it while she kept saying, “Please leave some for me!!!”

Try it, and let me know what you think. Like I said, it’s a family favorite. Now I need to go ask my dad to get crushed pineapple more often…. ;)

3 Comments

  1. [...] Food Allergy Froggie with her pineapple casserole. [...]

  2. [...] Food Allergy Froggie with her pineapple casserole. [...]

  3. June says:

    This sounds good but I usually use eggs which I can have. Can I put them in ? I need to use Truvia sugar as well? Do you know how much Truvia I should use or should I check w/that company?
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 807 other followers

